Much Like the Life Jesus Led

I’m reading through Brennan Manning’s book, Reflections for Ragamuffins. It has an entry for every day of the year. Today’s entry says that Jesus is not like the great thinkers of his day, “speaking with detachment about the Supreme Being.”

He’s the God with spit on his face.

And he tells us not to weep for him, but to join him. He tells us that the life he led is the Christian life he has planned for us to live.

Manning goes on to say that the scandalous cross of Christ comes into our lives through “mental anguish, physical suffering, and wounds of the spirit that will not close,” within which we pray that God will help us stand against the realms of the flesh, the devil and the world.

That got me to thinking about the life Jesus lived, and about the word “world.”

I’m thinking of doing a series of posts about the life that Jesus lived, because I’m certain I’ve not fully embraced that life for myself nearly enough. And as Manning says in this entry, “It is hard to be a Christian, but it is too dull to be anything else.”

If I do create this series of posts, I also want to talk about Jesus being hated by the world, and telling us his followers would be, too. Who was Jesus hated by? The “world” is something I’ve often been told is the embodiment of the values and means of secular systems–greed, lust, pride, selfish ambition and more. To be hated by the world would be to be hated by people who are all about those things, right? I’ve always heard that the world’s people are those who aren’t followers of God. But the people who hated and scorned Jesus, ultimately had him sentenced to death, and harassed his followers just as he said they would, were the religious leaders of the day. Paul himself admitted that when he was part of the faction that was trying to squelch Jesus and his Way, he thought he was on Team God.

I’m not certain I’m bold enough to start writing again. This blog has been quiet for years now. I’ve written many posts in the past three years, only to delete them rather than publish them. Maybe this is enough for now. Maybe it’s not, and I’ll do the series. For today, it’s enough.

If there’s anybody out there, thanks for reading. What do you think about these things? (Not whether or not not I write more, but about the things I’ve written here today.)

5 thoughts on “Much Like the Life Jesus Led

  1. David Seeber says:

    I think You have a beautiful writing voice that is full of good things to say and a richness that is unique to the signature of Theresa.

  2. Share what God has put on your heart in faith and obedience. I certainly want to read more!

    • Theresa Seeber says:

      Thank you so much for the encouragement. I’ve already begun making notes for the series. At this point, I’m definitely leaning toward doing it. It feels good to write for an audience again.

  3. Theodore Seeber says:

    I think I need this right now. But I challenge you to consider the idea of the UNIVERSAL Christ. The one who preached the way of life as opposed to the way of death. The one who claimed that all human beings were siblings under our Father God. The one who claimed that there was ONE right way to live.

    And no, I don’t think we’ve got it down yet. In fact, the *world* seems to be running as fast as it can in the other direction.

Leave a Reply

